Would you like to feed yourself something challenging?

I know, it’s a trick question. If you say “no” then you have to admit how lame you are. And if you say “yes” then you have to take action.

My latest read was a book that has the following description on the front cover “Taking Back Your Faith From the American Dream.”

Scary, right? All this time I thought the “American Dream” was God’s dream . . . let’s be honest, everyone knows you don’t pickup a book like this and then justify a jet-ski purchase in the same month.

The themes for this book are: Truth and Challenge. You’ll be hard pressed to find a teaching of Platt’s that’s not grounded in the Word of God. And yet, his idea’s might seem a little different from what you were taught in Sunday School or see modeled at church every week. That’s not a slam on the church, but an acknowledgement that this book is challenging. I read the book, agreed with the ideas, and then I looked at my own life and said “Uh-oh!” This book is gonna require change. This book is gonna require growth in God! 

My favorite part about the book is that at the end, Platt provides a 5 step dare. He backs up all the challenging teachings and ideas with 5 tangible things that you can do in the next year to grow closer to a radical life for God.

I flipped a coin and tails won. Guess you’ll have to read the book yourself to discover the 5 dares.

Enjoy!